I Love Fantasy Books! My Top 5 Fav YA Fantasy Reads

I loveeee young adult fantasy books! And I recently discovered that I am not alone! So in case you are one of my fellow YA readers then this list is for you! Here are my top 5 fav and they are listed from blah to my favorite one. Some are from series so just try to keep up lol

5. Angelfall (Penryn & The End of Days #1)
angelfall
Author: Susa Ee
Official Synopsis: It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel

My Review: Another apocalypse book, about a heroine who is determined to save her sister *cue hunger games* It was an ok read, I probably would have enjoyed it better if I had not read my other favs first.

4. The Hunger Games
hunger games
Author: Suzanne Collins
Official Synopsis: In a dark vision of the near future, a terrifying reality TV show is taking place. Twelve boys and twelve girls are forced to appear in a live event called the Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed.

When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature

My Review: I think Collins did a great job at introducing us to Panem and Katniss. I loved this book and especially the chapters where Katniss was in the arena. I thoroughly enjoyed the series *until MockingJay* and I love the movies

3.Catching Fire

catching fire

Author: Suzanne Collins

Official Synopsis: Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol – a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create

My Review: The2nd installment in The Hunger Games series and the best book by far!! I loved this book!! The character development was insane, and despite the overdone love triangle mess, I still loved it. Katniss is a much better heroine than Bella could ever be! (As much as I loved Breaking Dawn, it just couldn’t make the list). On top of that, the Catching Fire movie was almost the exact same as the book. Which almost never happens. This was the best book of the series and the next one Mockingjay was horrible. Utter disappointment.

2.Daughter of Smoke and Bone

daughter of smokenbone

Author: Laini Taylor

Official Synopsis: Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

My Review: This synopsis does not even hint at the awesomeness that is inside. As accurate as it sounds, it makes it sound weird and creepy and something that we have heard before *starcrossed lovers* BUT this book is everything. Laini Taylor is the best author I have EVER read! Like everrrrrrrr. Her writing literally paints a picture on the canvas that is your mind. For me it starts off a little slow but picks up almost as soon as I got that feeling. I literally could not wait for the 2nd book, which happens to be my #1 Fav Fantasy book 🙂

1.Days of Blood and Starlight

Days of Blood & Starlight

Author: Laini Taylor

Official Synopsis: Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

My Review: Le Sigh…..Where do I begin? This is the sequel to my number 2 fav book Daughter of Smoke and Bone and this book was just…..I simply do not have the words lol. One thing I loved though, was that Laini Taylor had little to none “love” in this book. Most YA writers are afraid to simply drop or pause their love story for the greater good. But it made perfect sense for this book because there was so much more going on. Her writing was beautiful and pulled emotions out of me I didn’t know a book could do. It was a sad and dark read and I loved every depressing minute of it. I recommend this series to anyone who has a passion for YA fantasy.

 

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

