BET Awards 2014 or EBT Awards?

So I usually don’t get a chance to catch the various award shows that come on. But yesterday I was in the right place at the right time I guess and I just so happened to watch the show with #BlackTwitter which actually inspired me to do this post. I always get irritated watch award shows with twitter because black people NEVER have anything positive to say and it is always so clear during this time. Crabs in the barrel mentality

0051
A night dedicated to celebrating black entertainers turns into a slander fest via twitter, but I digress.

When that new R&B guy August Alsina won his first award he appeared to be very emotional and crying behind his shades. Oh twitter lit him up! “it’s just a BET award!” So what you are saying? That because it comes from BET it’s not a valid award? The Grammy’s though are apparently right? We should put the same worth on black celebrations as we do for “other” award shows. In addition to this, I do believe this was August’s first award. He was humbled and I for one am happy to see it.

Shoutout to Pharrell for winning awards for his song happy. I actually like this song, maybe because I don’t listen to the radio lol

I didn’t make it to the end of the award show I’m sad to say because I actually enjoyed a number of performances. I appreciate the fact that although artist like Usher and Nicki Minaji have crossed over to pop they still come back to the BET awards. BET is probably the place where Hip-Hop and R&B artist receive their first award.

My favorite performance is a tie between Usher #TBT hits and the Light Skin Trinity (Trey, August & Chris). I heard Beyoncé sent a video of her performance (yawns) I would have stayed up to see her live but it’s just the BET awards right?

Rolls_Eyes
Lionel Richie was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award and I never really was a fan so I missed his tribute on purpose.
Chris Rock was funnier than I expected but I would still like to see Gary Owens host the BET awards. But Black twitter will probably protest a white man hosting the EBT awards (protest via twitter of course)
Overall it was a pretty good show, I’ll probably update this post after I watch the last hour. Lol

Leave a Reply

