$15.00/Hour A Discussion on Minimum Wage

Moneeeyyyyyyy!!

hhh

That’s what we’re going to talk about today! These protest going on to raise minimum wage to $15.00 a hour. I have had mixed feelings about this for a while now. I’m not sure if somebody who works in fast food deserves $15.00 a hour.

But see there is my first problem. I don’t know what it is that they do or how hard it is. All day on twitter I’ve seen people say “You shouldn’t get paid that much to flip burgers” But my question is why not?

I’ve never worked in fast food but my first job was at a sandwich place named Cosi. I worked my ass off at Cosi for my lil $7.25 an hour. I was a high school student at the time so that was perfect money for me! But what about the adults I worked with? How were they getting by on such low wages? Most people’s response is: Get a better paying job.

Well Duh!

When I graduated from college in 2010, I could not find a job for anything!! I mean internships, teaching, secretary jobs NOTHING. After 6 months, kohl’s finally gave me a shot. For anybody who has student loans knows what happens 6 months after you graduate.

 

llll

 

But I was only making $7.50/hour and barely getting 40 hours. If I didn’t have my parents to lean on I would have been homeless. Seriously, there is no way that anybody (even with the most frugal of lifestyles) can survive on $7.50. Especially in the DC area. I thankfully had a degree so that provided some more opportunities for me later on, but what about people who don’t have a degree?

Now of course, working in McDonalds you’re not going to be able to drive a luxury vehicle and live in a huge 4 bedroom house. But you should at least be able to provide the basic necessities for your family.

That’s not asking too much at all.

 

Leave a Reply

