Transgender Children: How Young is Too Young?

About a month ago, I was reading an article about Ryland Whittingon on CNN’s page. I have provided the link so I won’t get into too many details but at the end of the article I couldn’t help thinking “wow this child is only 7, that’s a lot to deal with at a young age”

When I was a little girl, I wanted to be tough. I chose Legos over dolls and wanted to play basketball instead of dance. I even hated my name because it was too feminine. But eventually I grew out of it and out of my tomboy phase.

I’m not saying this is the case here, but these parents are moving a bit too quickly in their decision to address their daughter as a boy.

Hear me out

This child is 7. Seven! I don’t even remember “decisions” I made when I was 12 let alone 7. What happens if when Ryland starts puberty and decides he wants to be a girl again? I’m assuming he will become a girl.

I’m suggesting that maybe waiting a child is at least in middle school before making these drastic life altering decisions. The parents are looking into blocking puberty and “administering cross-hormones”. That is a HUGE deal!!

They are making it almost impossible for Ryland to change his mind.

If these are decisions that are left up to the person then what’s wrong with waiting until the person is mature enough to make these decisions??

Anyway here’s another article about the benefits of making these decisions while children are young. I just disagree.

Thoughts?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

